#Sunset. ..Part 5.

image

Xoxoxo. ..

“Dr Elizabeth Blake”….that’s was what the name on my door read…I even had one seating on my table…a nicely made up office.
The town people were kind…some dropped by to say hello..brought in goodies and fruits,cakes to stuck up my fridge..forgetting I just work there not sleep there.
I was grateful none the less.

The town had established a pediatric intensive care unit in the hospital about a year ago..but they never had a live – in resident doctor to cover that unit. . He came in twice a week..
I was the first so they were pleased.

Just a few days at the hospital…I had a crowd of people bringing in their sick children…maternity issues and pregnancy mums stalked my hallway..
They didn’t lie…I had so much work on my hands..

I told the secretary to put a vacancy notice out front…inviting capable volunteers to help around…

About 30 people came for the interview…I could pick just eight…plus we couldnt pay them yet..

But we feed them…and kept them warm..courtesy of the goodwill people association counsel who donated handsomely when it came to foods, cloths for the needy..and contributed to get medicine for the sick children.

And so…my duties began by 9am every morning…Sometimes. ..I slept – in. ..other days…the nurses could handle it.
I sent a memo out….it wouldnt hurt if we had another doctor here..I was asked to wait for a feedback…that was few weeks ago.

In the evenings I would sometimes stop at the grocery store…and get some supplies at home..
Being at home…was the only peace I could get..away from the wailing and crying of children.

Don’t get me wrong. I loved kids..praying to have one or two of my own…Ofcos when I settle down..
But when you have kids around you with so much pain…you feel all sad and Thankful for the healthy look you have.

My heart went out to little brain…so much life..he needed a surgery…a heart transplant…First of its close to difficult looking for a blood match..Secondly the finances…reaching out to people hoping they help..He needs to be set out of state for that to happen…so so sad…

It’s been a long few weeks…I did all I can. To keep the kids happy..we throw a balloon party every now and then..have their friends come over…for an hour or two..have music..cakes and sweets…we even take pictures with happy smily faces…
Argh their smiles would break your heart…

When I leave the hospital to go home..I say a silent prayer for a bright feeling every morning. These kids  needs hope..not a downcast person around them. So I put up a brave face…and make their day..

Xoxoxxo

It was sunday….my men were coming over for Thanksgiving sunday..

It’s been awhile I saw them…
I was at their wedding…I made sure to attend it…thankfully it was a month apart so I managed.
But that was it…I missed them so..

Thomas had a family of three excluding himself and his wife Anita stallion..Now Anita blake ofcos. And their kids…Tommy, Vivien and Toby. .

Tammy and his wife Rhondda …have  Jamie and Elisabeth. .hehe…yes…I have a namesake.

I had asked him why he named his child after me…He told me..

“She reminded me of you. Fiesty lil thing..when she came out of her mama wailing…never settled down for anyone to come her hair..always wanted me to plaite it french  braids..she fought  Jamie and followed me everywhere….

“When I saw her smile…I knew this was my lizzy…so be glad…you have tutulage
Responsibilites..hehehe!!…He chuckled.

Can’t wait to meet them all…

I and Ma had gone to the town’s market and got everything we needed. …including wine…and a grapefruits and juice for the kids ofcos.

We had the whole barbecue. ..steak…and grill set up and a big fat ass chicken stowing in the oven…that was my Yum part…I love chicken!! I rubbed my hands together.

The table was set…the frontyard cleaned for when we needed to take to outside…chairs and table properly arranged…and a play pen blown out for the kids when they got bored of us and need to play by themselves….that was expected ofcos.

It was time…3pm…perfect!!!

Xoxoxo

They were laughing at the cheap ass joke tammy made about Thomas thinking he could outrun a bull.
They had gone to watch a bullride one time…and Thomas had gotten into a fight with a huge fellow…and both of them were shrugging about God knows what…and he knocked his cap over..

Ofcos tammy told Thomas to forget it…

He was saying …

“but no..The fool jumped into the ring trying to save his hat…just then the 8 seconds ride of the performer had just finished…and the bull as usual was all over the place…nearly knocked him off too…He scrambled fast…and got up his feet to run but ofcos you can’t out run a bull who wants to nibe your ass…got his wailing and calling for mama…”….had us all roaring with laughter..

“Hey that’s not true…”….Thomas tried to defend himself…

“I just had to get away from that thing as anyone normal would do…I was ofcos not trying to wail for Ma…”

“I just screamed for the trainers…”…”And FYI. ..it not even funny”…

We were still laughing…

“Yeah Yeah. ..whatever…and the funniest part he was trying to make a cool expression for his wife here…then she just agreed to go on a date with him..”…

“I felt sorry for the poor guy…”..Anita said smiling..she had a beautiful smile…Vivien looked so much like her..
“I tried not to laugh because it was so funny…but I was breaking out in sweats too because I was so scared for him…

“And tammy wouldn’t shut up about it..”…Rhonda said..
“The whole ride home was a combustion of laughing…like we had a hyena on a loose..”…she laughed.

Thomas feigned hurt….”Ma don’t believe a word they say now…”

“Ofcos son…I don’t! !”…Ma said winking at Pa and the rest of us…
It was hilarious..

“Bla!!!”…Thomas said….”enough about me..”..
“Liz…how is being back treating you?”..
“Ma says the whole town showed up on your doorstop…

“Well…not literally….Ma jusy exaggerates too much…but am coping fine..its tasking but i will manage.Thank you… This time I will be the one bringing out your kids for you…so one of you better get knocked up real fast now..”…I said looking at Rhonda and Anita…they both laughed waving both hands….in a No-no gesture…

“I already have my hands full on these ones. .”Anita said…Indicating the kids playing with their cousins at the play pen….
“Not forgetting he is also a handful”…referring to Thomas without looking at him but nodding towards him…

“I could imagine”…Pa said…
“He was the hit man amongst these three…”…Pa said indicating us..

“Oh really?..”..exclaimed Anita..
“Oh dear..!!…Rhonda joined in

“I was not”…Thomas defended…

“You were too”…This was me now….that much was true..

“Huhun”…tammy said…
“I just followed suit and lizzy tagged along for the ride”…He said nudging me…I nudged him back. ..

“Ok ok am confused …how come the jist just left lizzy and came back to me?…”…Thomas asked ….
Everyone seemed puzzled ….I laughed..

“Really now?…my life is ok.
“Doing what I love..
“Back home with my family…meeting the gals that I know we would be just best friends…getting to know my nieces and nephews would be our joy…
…..
“Really….everything is cool”…..I finished satisfied with myself…

We had finished devouring the chicken…Ma outdid herself..it was heaven…The food was amazing…

We were at the front yard…grilling and barbecuing beat. ..and more chicken…abit of salad at the side…bread cakes on a tray…and sweet tooth’s to go around…

“Well…yes dear…everything is great either her….”Ma said…

“Excerpt she don’t think she wants to settle down  calling all men fake….Forgetting she be getting old soon…”Ma added…resting her head on Pa’s shoulders has he bad his arm around her…
The most innocent look on her face as though she didn’t know what she stirred…

“Really Ma?….raised eyebrow…

She blew me a kiss…I could only smile..

“Oh…I could introduce you to a few of my friends…lovely lads…you would just love them…and sure you would find a suitable one for…” Anita purred…like a cat caressing her paws…

“No…where I work…out at the academy….This fine bloke…Charles. ..lovely dentition …He is such a dear..you would love him. Let me fiz a date…?…she said excitedly….”Oh  a blind date would just be super…”…she cooed.m

I rolled my eyes…

“Yes dears…you all should do that…my baby girl so pretty I don’t see why she hiding herself away…I need to hold your kids to and have another son around the table you know…”….ma said.

Typical..
“Am going to become a nun.”..

“That’s the spirit darlyn…”…Thomas said…laughing…”then you would end up eyeing all the priests seductively. ..”…

“Argh!!…I exclaiming beating his arm..
“That’s low buckteeth”…

“Don’t be silly dear”….Ma said…
“She ain’t gonna be a nun. I love you Lord. .”…she said looking up…”…
“But my baby girl  needs a man…Help her out . Amen!”..doing the sign of the cross.

“Amen!!”…Thomas and tammy joined in…

The ladies laughed…I blushed…I looked at Pa for help…

“Oh leave her alone..”…He scolded…
“There  there my little pumpkin..”…He said taking my hand and planting a kiss on my forehead…
“Don’t mind this old folks…”…

“Oh..old folks…?…
“We see only one gray haired couple on this table..”..
“Hey I and your father aren’t old…we just dyed our hair abit off the usual colour…”
“Oh lovely hairdo…”
“For real …girl..you are killing it..”
…they were all talking at once…

Pa kept talking…
“Take you time
.Don’t rush into it. Whenever you are ready…I’ll be here to take your hand ok?…”

“Thanks Pa…”…He was my hero…always..

I stuck out my tongue at the bunch of them…

They laughed.

Xoxox

We talked long Into the night…
We ate until our tommy was full.
We played with the kids…
“Hide and seek”…
“What did grandpa or grandma say?
“Catch and throw..”…and every other fun games we remembered.

We talked about our favourite young memory. .
We spoke about our dreams and aspiration.
We spoke of the future.

I had time to spend with the little ones…especially with Eliza jnr blake…
He was right. ..she had .my traits..
I was a aunt of five…that was alot of kids…but…I would love them like my own..

It was a family great time.
I missed the boys..

I had watched them over the years..
Followed in their shadows..
Looked up to them and tan up to them..

I had watched how from boys they became men..
How they made decisions how they built themselves up and formed their path.
Never forgetting the way they were brought up..
They were men now…and I could see…alot of Pa in them.

They had their own family..and their kids were respectible. .good table manners despite how little…they obeyed when corrected…and tried not to throw too much tantrum when frustrated…I knew they did good with their family.

I saw the look of love and admiration from their wives eyes..
It had respect..not fear..
Pride not disguise..
I knew their family was built on that foundation..

Every hug and kissed they shared intimately told me they loved not hurt each other. .and I was happy for them..

As we hugged each and everyone goodbye…I knew I had a perfect family..not without flaw…but atleast everyone thrived to fit all the missing pieces together. .

I also knew that…even if I knew finding my own mate was important. ..there was nothing wrong in having something close to the family I have here…they were my inspiration …
A man like my Pa…My brothers..A replica of him…
They showed me that not all the eggs in the basket was spoiled…I just have to wait for the one…who mattered enough. ..

I snapped out of my reverie and helped ma with the cleaning.

Later on..
We sat down…by the porch…but of our heads on either side of Pa’s shoulders..as I did ever since I was a little girl…while he read to us from one of his books…swinging ….and listening to the sound of his voice….watching as the sun when down…

Tomorrow  back to reality.
Today…I was enjoying in the moment and willed time to stand still.
I closed my eyes and allowed it sink all in..

Xoxoxxo.

3 thoughts on “#Sunset. ..Part 5.

  1. Wow, what an interesting read. Keep it up, family is indeed everything when there is love. I got some fine blokes here too, let me hook you up on a blind date. Lolz…just teasing!! I mean it though, Jajajaja!!

Leave a Reply

