Darkside…8

image

Xoxoxoxox

“We have been knocking for a few minutes ..
No one is answering tonia”..
Vicky said while she continued to knock..

“Yeah everywhere is closed..
The curtains and all that..”..
Tonia tried to peep in..

“Maggi must have gone home to see her mum..
Like she said.
Have you got Mrs micheal ‘ s number ..
We should call her. And find out how Maggie is doing you know. ..
Maybe over next weekend we could go see her or something..take the first train out you know??”.

Vicky scrolls through her phone. ..
“Er..yes I do..
But er..I think i wrote it down in my dairy and forgot to store it in my phone…
And I left that darn thing back at the boutique. .
I brought it out to jot down chito’s address for boss…and I forgot to put it back in my bag…

“Argh. ..everyone would have left…
We might have to do that tomorrow then okay tonia??”  …

Vicky sighed.
Feeling resigned. .

“Er sure I guess “..

They both backed away from the front porch of Maggie ‘ s house..

A neighbour had just come back from walker her dog…
She slowed down abit when she saw the girls staring at Maggie ‘ s. .

She knew she had seen them all together…
Maggie ‘ s close friends..

“Hello girls…
Is it Victoria and monica??”..she asked..

While her dog danced around her legs..
Wagging it’s tail…

“Hello Mrs peppie. .how are you doing?
You seem to be doing great ..
How is your leg??”..

Tonia asked..
Walking towards the elderly woman..
Rubbing the dog’s head ..

“And it’s vicky and tonia Mrs peppie..”…she smiled. .

“Oh so sorry dear…
Forgive an old woman”..

“Oh don’t be silly Mrs peppie…If you say you are old. ..then how would you classify me and tonia here…
You look like a sweet sixteen…
I would die to have that beautiful shape of yours you know..”… Victoria said..coming behind tonia…

“Oh you flatter me darlynes. .but thank you..”..she said with a light laugh…
Removing the shawl around her neck…
And paused..

“But why…are you girls standing outside Maggie ‘ s. .
I haven’t seen her for a week or so..
She must have gone out of town..
She usually walks my dog for me some evenings. .and help to check up on papi down the road and take care of his plants when he is out of town..
But she calls or leaves a message when she won’t be able to do all that so I could find someone to..
But not a word from her for a bit and her phone keeps ringing and she doesn’t pick…

“Do you know how she is or where she is..
I was somewhat worried but I didn’t have a number to call or anything…so I figured to wait till she gets back..”…
She had her hands on her chest now .

“That’s awfully strange don’t you think?”..

“Yes yes..
We haven’t seen her either..
The last time we heard from her was about thesame time..
She said she was feeling pretty under the weather and won’t be able to come to work and we should cover for her. ..

…and we shouldn’t worry over her…
If it gets worse she would go outter town to see her mother”..

Vicky said. ..Rubbing her shoulders slightly…
She felt a chill…
She didnt know why. ..

“And thesame thing..I phone kept ringing..but now it doesn’t connect.”

“We were pretty worried and decided to come check on her but no one is home and it looks deathly quiet around here you know. ..I tried peeping in though the windows but all I see is dark…no sign of life…”…

“Like she hadn’t been home for a while..
We are pretty worried..
“We are gonna call her family up and find out if she is ok..
It’s very unlike Maggie to just not be available or drop out of the surface without a word or how to reach her…”…Tonia looked back at the quiet house and bit her lips…

“Well…her man friend used to come ..
Check in once in awhile…
I saw him a few nights ago. .

He comes very early in the morning or late at night…

Yes…about twice I had seen in come and go…

One time I asked and he said he just comes to make sure everything is okay for when Maggie gets home..
But that’s been awhile. ..”…..

“Her man friend…?
Maggie didnt mention he had a key to her house”…vicky asked Mrs peppie who just nodded her head

“Well you do know that they got close and she is tripping all over him and such…”..Tonia explained…

“But Maggie doesn’t leave out a detail like that. ..we are her friends “…vicky cut in…”So we ought to know such things. …”..

“But he seemed like a nice man…so I didn’t worry.
I never saw her with a man for a long time and I was happy she finally had one who cared for her…
Such a sweet man you know”….she was smiling …as she spoke

“Er what was his name again…??”  ..she asked no one one in particular as she tried to seive through her thoughts. .

“Er I think it’s Boddy or buck…
Ahhh…got it..He said Bob…He got an accent…”..she nodded her head..

“Hmmm…yes his name is Bib Michen or something like that”…
Tonia stared at her watch…..

Vicky seemed abit unsettled about something…
She had a worried expression on her face as she bit her lip…

“Don’t you think it’s awfully strange …Maggie doesn’t own a cat or a dog or some pet needs catering for while she is away..
Or a tiny garden behind her house that needs  tending to..
So what will er…Bob be doing here two three times a week. ..

“Or is it possible he stays here while she is away. .
She did mention that he needed sketchy about where he stays and about going to his place…

“Maybe he is Living with her you know. .
Probably that’s why she didn’t want us to come check on her ..
So we don’t find out that her new boyfriend is homeless and staying at her place while she is away…
So he don’t get embarrassed or something…

“Or something like that”….. vicky was trying to convince herself..
Give reasons why she felt unsettles about the whole thing…

Tonia looked back at the house one more time…and back at Mrs peppie. ..

“Oh well we would be on our way…
We brought some goodies for Maggie but since she ain’t around…
Why don’t you have it..
Would be nice to just have something not cooked by you tonight Mrs peppie…wouldn’t it??….she smiled at the elderly lady as she took it from her hand…

“Oh how sweet of you darlynes…” She gladly accepted. ..

They left a few minutes later. ..

………………

He watched the whole thing..
He had placed a camera around the house one of these nights…
So he would be aware and alert when someone came by…

And thankfully he had been at his own house. .
Prepping to go over when he noticed a cab pull up and two ladies alighted..
He recognised them instantly…

After the left. .
He decided he needed to work fast and get out before someone begins to suspect. ..

He decided to go by in the early hours of the morning instead…
He needed to be done and rid of her sooner than he expected. ..

For now…
He needed to take a quick nap..
Work was tedious this morning…

……..

I felt bile rise to my throat..
And I almost couldnt stop the retching when it began…
My body shook violently as my mouth expelled whatever it is my body was reacting to…

It took a few minutes before I could hold myself. .
But I had already made a mess on the floor beside the bed. ..

And as always..
The room was pitch black…
My head was torn into a thousand pieces..
My eyes felt hot and my body felt like a heated oven …

I lazily dragged myself out of the bed and crumpled like a heap of cloths to the ground..
I felt limp. ..
‘Jesus!!”.. I muttered..
Licking my patched lips..

I was dying of thirst..
And my tummy felt like I needed food like since yesterday. ..

I pulled myself to a sitting position and reached for the glass of juice I noticed sitting at the bed side table with a plate of chopped beef. ..

I tired to call out to Bob…
But no answer…

Maybe he couldnt hear me because I couldn’t hear myself either…

My eyes had somehow adjusted to the darkness of the room..
I realised I Wasn’t dreaming…
This was more than a day…

“But why was I like this”..
“Was I so sick that I was quarantined in my house”??..

“But if I were.
Bon wouldn’t have been here..
Taking care of me…
Or was he??

“He seemed more interested in banging the life out of me despite how sore I was…
It was like I was awake or asleep through it all..but it didn’t dull the pains or the soreness..
Or the bleeding…
And when I wake up I wakeup to more bruises than I had the night before  
Though I couldnt see…
But I felt my body..
And I knew my body well enough to know that …
This was a sign of abuse. ..”..

I was scared now.
“Bob was sexually abusing me”…I began to sob..

“Despite how sick I feel…
Doesn’t he care?..
“He used to be so sweet and loving and very gentle..
“Now he felt like a total stranger..”….I cried..

But I felt too weak even..

But again i though to myself…
“Maybe whatever was wrong with me was making me see things negatively. …
Afterall Bob had been here caring for me. ..”
“Whats wrong with you Maggie? ”

I sniffed and cleaned my tears with the back of my hands…

I reached for the juice and the plate of beef…
I brought the food to my nose  .
The stench was overpowering like rotten meat…
But it seemed as though it was just cooked..but still the smell was nauseating…

“Argh”!!…
I put it back..

I made a mental note to tell Bob to change the places he got his beef from…
That wasn’t fresh in all levels..

I took the juice instead and brought it to my lips..

I ended up pouring it away when I felt another vomit come up…

“Shit shit shit! !”…

“Bob…??”
“Bob…where are you…all dt sorry I just a mess here…come help me please? ”

I called out but no answer..
The silence was deafening…
And everywhere was pitch black…

I struggled to get up…
But as soon as feel back to the ground again…thats when the actual fear hit me..I realised..

“I was paralysed “…

I heard myself screaming and screaming. …and sobbing.

I began to drag myself to the door. .
Out rotate palour..
Hitting over tables or bruising my hips with the chair…
Or Headon to the wall…

No matter how dark a house was when it was night. ..
It wasn’t supposed to be these dark..
As though something extra was blocking the light from coming in…
And I felt closed in…
Boxed in…it felt oddly strange and my heart got in my chest…
When it dawned on me that something was wrong with the whole picture…

I wasn’t safe. ..
I wasn’t going insane.
Bob must have kidnapped me and made me these way to sexually abuse me…

“Help me…somebody help me”…
I began to scream

I had found my way to the front door and constantly hit it.

I dragged my self to the area I kept my phone and noticed the line had been cut and pulled out of the socket..

I dragged myself to my room…
Pulling myself into a sitting position. .
grabbing my bag and emptying out its contents. ..

“My phone…
Where is my phone? “”….

Tears pouring from my face and my hands were shaking…
I felt weak..
So weak…
I could barely keep screaming…
I couldnt walk..
No one could hear me…
I couldnt cal our for help…

I prayed for someone to come look for me..
Someone would be worried about me..
Someone would come search for me and they would help me…
I began to silently pray. .

“Help please come before Bob comes back”…

But I felt so weak..
So weak…
My vision began to blurr
I yawned. .
And I slowly drifted off to sleep..
As i clutched my bag to my chest..
Right on the ground..
In that pitch black home…
While I laid there…
I prayed…

Xoxoxoxoxoxox

Leave a Reply

