#31MAY #STORY 28 #MAY28TH ●FINDERS, KEEPERD

#31MAY 

#31MAYSTORY #31DAYSOFMAY #31STORIESINMAY #MAY31SERIES #MAYSERIES #M-URDER #A-RSON 

#Y-OU 
#STORY28  (YESTERDAY’S STORY) #MAY28TH
●FINDERS,KEEPERS !!!
*

“Oh dear do you know,  how a long time ago,two poor little Children whose names I don’t know, was caught in the maze on a cold summer’s day and left the woods as I have heard people say,and when it was night, so sad was their plight,these poor little children they laid down and died  ..and all the day long,they sang them these song. .poor babes in the woods poor babes in the woods, oh don’t you remember poor babes in the woods, poor babes in the woods ” Her grandmother sang the song over and over again that whenever she closed her eyes could she hear her voice.
Her grandmother was the most loving woman ever, so kind and never got tired of her.
So it didn’t make sense that she just died. that was what her mother said as she cried in her father’s arms.

The police, they couldn’t tell who killed her, all they know is that the only thing missing from her house was a green diamond necklace she liked to wear around her neck.
Her eyes were plucked  out, her ears peirced in with a screw driver and her tongue pulled out with a clipper.

The weapons used to commit this act just laid there on the floor with no finger prints .
And the poor old woman bleed to her death, alone, in her small house.

Tina cried next to her mother as the news was broken to them at the early hours of the next morning. 
“But, why?” Her mother, Trish asked
“We figured it was a robbery because her house was trashed up but..Nothing seems to be missing.  Just turned tables and chairs and beds,  as though the person was looking for something in particular. And the fact that the killer took out time to take out her eyes, and her tongue I guess to keep her from screaming and pierces her ears goes to show that the person had other motives too. But the green diamond necklace is what we don’t understand , from what you say she never takes it off”
“Never, as long as I can remember mother wore that necklace to bed and even to shower”
“What is it?”
“It’s a family heirloom , passed down from generation to generation,  mama always says that when she was about to die she would place it around my neck and than in time I will give it to my daughter. . ”
“Is it like worth a few bucks maybe? ”

“No, she said it was made of a scarved rock made of green that our mother’s and  her mother’s mother’s before her had in their family. she told me that it helps to protect her from harm, and the only time she would take it off is only when she is dying…that death can’t kill  an already dying person”
“okay it doesn’t make sense but let’s go with it. So it’s like a protection necklace ?”
“According to mother , Yes”
” So the person was able to kill her because she had taken it off or because he took it off and then he kills her. So technically , someone might have killed your mother because of that, because that sounds ridiculous but that is the only thing the person seemed to collect and it’s the only missing item in the crime scene.” The officer said.
Tina,  who was barely eleven listens to their conversation,  from across the room she saw her grandmother, sitting on her favorite chair and she backed her, she would rock herself till she slept. 
Now she looked and saw the chair empty. 
And grandmother wasn’t there anymore.
“If we have any more information we would let you know” the police told them.
Her mother cried all night, her father consoled their throughout the night and Tina, Tina went to the chair in which her Grandmother used to rock herself to sleep and then she rocked it , back and forth,  back and forth untill she fell asleep.
*

It was two months  later when she saw it..
It was on a new girl’s neck, it sparkled green and it was beautiful and it looked exactly like what her grandmother used to wear
“Mother, I saw grandmother’s necklace with a girl in school today”

“You did?”
“Yes mother. ”
“Are you sure it’s thesame one Tina,  you have to be sure? ”
“Mother, I am. I stared at it for so long around grandmother’s neck and no matter how much I begged her to give me she told me that you would give it to me when it is time after you have worn it till you are old and grey. so I know mother. ..and the new girl has it around her neck”
“We would go to the school tomorrow and we would find out”
“The case as been closed Trish, it’s been two months, we never found the killer. .” Her father tells her mother 
“it doesn’t mean that this might lead us to a glue.  if she has the necklace for real then maybe someone had given it to her, someone who might know something who knows . that necklace is one of its kind, from my mother’s lineage.it is no coincidence that someone has it. we just have to check it and see, and ask her some questions that is it”
“Fine” He sighs
*
“Latoya, can you please tell us where you got this necklace from?” the principal asks her.
Trish had followed Tina to school and waited till the  new girl came and as soon as she saw her neck,  she went up to the girl and told her to remove it and give it, asking her where she got it from,the new girl threw a feat refusing to do so. they were called into the principal’s office where they showed her the picture of the exact same necklace from two generations back.  And told her the history behind it. she said she was going to ask the girl questions herself. 
“Latoya?” the principal calls the girl’s name again
” it is mine. I found it in my father’s jacket, ”
“It is not yours,  it’s my mother’s and my mother’s mother’s ” Trish snaps

 

“Mrs Trish Dickson, let me handle this please ”
“Does he know you have it?” The principal turns back to the girl
“No. he has been away for two days for work, and I was helping mother dry clean when I noticed something in father’s pocket and then I saw this necklace” She says touching it. “And I knew at once father had bought it for me on my birthday. He couldn’t get me a present  last week so I guess this was the one he bought  for me and he was going to give it to me.  But by the time I went back to look for him, mother said he had gone , so I am waiting to tell him thank you. But I wore it because it was so pretty. .even mother seemed jealous of its prettiness”
“Latoya, we would like to call your father and ask him”
“He would tell you thesame thing. ”
“In the main time, I would ask that you take it off and when the whole mess is cleared up and it is trully yours,we would give it back to you , untill then, can you please take it off?”
“You promise?”
“Yes I promise ” 
it takes a long while , and some struggle for  Latoya to take it off and then finally she  places it in the principal’s hands,Tina is staring at it.

“You are excused Latoya,and you too Tina. Mrs Trish a word?”
As the children leaves, staring back at the necklace ,  the principal turns to Trish 
“If there is any truth in what you are saying,there might be a possibility that Latoya’s father might be the one responsible for your mother’s death or by sheer coincidence he happen to just have this necklace. ”
“I hope not but if that is true then I would need to inform the police about it”
*
“How did you get this necklace Mr Johnson?” The police had appeared infront of his door the next day, his family was home, Latoya sat beside her mother..
Tina, her father and mother was there too.
“I found it. ”
“Found it where Sir? ”
“I ..I don’t remember.  I woke up one morning,went to work as usual, I am an electrician and was told you go fix up some old lady’s light in the basement . And I went there,she was in her chair and Rocking it back and forth back and forth. I went in and fixed the light and I left..Or I think I left  . I ask for a glass of water which she pointed me to her fridge and the next thing I remember was waking up at home. And the necklace in my pocket” He was sweating 
“What are you saying Johnson? ” His wife gasps 
“Are you saying that you don’t remember killing the old woman  in her apartment? ” 
“I didn’t kill the old lady in the apartment.  I went there to work”
“And the tools we found there belonged to you right? ”
“I don’t remember seeing them back home with me” he confessed “But I didn’t kill any old lady I swear. I think I blacked out but I don’t know how. I woke up and the lady was still there on her chair quiet..not moving,  and the necklace was just there and…I thought it was thrown away you know so I think I tool it because when I woke up the neck day it was in my pocket and I wanted to return it but I heard that the lady had died and then I didn’t know who to give it to. but I forgot ..but I don’t remember anything. Nothing.  but I know I didn’t kill no woman'”
“Father , ” Latoya cries ” The necklace , it is mine right. you got it for me. I found it.. I should keep it father right. .I should , it belongs to me father ” Latoya cries louder
“Oh my God” Trish hugs herself “Murderer Murderer! !” She cried  pointing at him
“I swear I didn’t kill her, I don’t remember what happened. ” He begged.
The police began to cuff him and nudge him outside …While his family cried for him..
Tina stands staring at him..then she turns away
” The Fool.”
*
“Miss Catherine …Can I have my grandmother’s necklace now?” Tina knocks coming into the office , 

The principal was backing her, when she turns suddenly she was wearing it..
“Oh I am so sorry dear, it is so beautiful ” She gushes touching it..
“I know, can I have it now. The killer has been apprehended and taken to jail. Can I have it back now?” she stretches out her hand to her
“No dear..I don’t think you can. it is mine now” She says walking out of the room leaving Tina to stare after her.
“I found it, I should keep it. it’s so pretty ” She says over her shoulders 
Tina is staring at her. She isn’t smiling.
*
“Mother, The principal refused to give me  back grandmother’s necklace ” Tina says to her mother
“Why not, ? I called her this morning and then she said she would give it to you as soon as you came to school …but I don’t understand it, I would go there myself tommorow ” Trish says
*
“Did you hear ?” Some teachers were whispering as Trish and Tina got to school
“I would love to see the principal please ” Trish tells the secretary
“You didn’t see the news did you?”
“What news”
“The principal was found dead this morning, no eyes, no tongue and in some gory state…Oh dear lord. they don’t know who did it” The lady says dabbing her eyes
“Oh my God” Trish exclaims

“The necklace, did they find the necklace?”  Tina asks
“What necklace ?”
“A green daimond necklace, she was wearing it yesterday ”
“Oh that pretty little thing , ..No. sadly that was the only thing missing.” The woman says turning away

Trish takes her daughter and leaves..
“Its gone Tom, it’s gone again. I don’t understand ” She cried in her husband’s arms
Tina is seated in her grandmother’s chair and rocking it back and forth nonstop till she falls asleep
*
it’s a year later when she sees it again… it was around a little girl’s neck. .And this time she decided not to take any chances. 
The little girls was playing amongst the children , she was about four years old and her parents sat close by watching her. 
Tina went to sit beside them.
“Your daughter?  she is beautiful ”

“Oh thank you dear.  you are beautiful yourself. ” The lady smiles turning to her and taps her hands.
The little girl turns and runs up to her mother ‘Can I have juice mama?”
“Sure dear, ” She picks up her bag and hands her a ribenna
“Oh wow such a beautiful necklace, where did you get it from, I would love to get one for my little sister ” Tina lied
“Oh.. necklace , I ..I don’t remember. .” the woman says….  “I erm,  I think a friend gave me. she is late now. ‘” she touches her temple 
‘”She came home one day with it and she doesn’t remember buying it. but, my wife suffers from amnesia so I figured she purchased it for our lil girl but didn’t remember from where. she has been wearing it ever since.”
“Oh. .but it is beautiful ” Tina says
“Yes indeed it is,ever since I wore her, she never takes it off, she doesn’t even let me touch it. she is so selfish with it and sometimes I want to wear it too but she wouldn’t let me…” the mother says frowning
‘Yeah , I know the feeling…. Oh well, have a nice day…” Tina says walking away.
*
She followed them home and waited till they were asleep then she climbed through the window and peered down into the little girls bed..
“Hello, I am here to take what is mine…” She whispers leaning in and taking it off the little girl’s neck..

Then she turns to find the girl’s mother standing there…
“What are you doing ? give it back to me”
“No, it is mine,it is my mother’s mother’s ” Tina says
“No, it is mine. I found it. I keep it.it is mine. my daughter didn’t want to give it back after finding it in my bag,and she made me wear her and she has refused to take it off ever since. it is mine.. I found it..I keep it. ”
“No…This belongs to my family you are nothing but a thief ” Tina says trying to leave but the woman pushes her aside and begins to struggle with her for the necklace. 
They struggle for a while and then Tina pushes her to the wall causing the woman to hit her head.

While she falls to the ground, she towers over her.. the child was still asleep.
Good.
She puts her hands into her pocket and then brings out a screw driver; a clipper and she sets to work.
The next morning there would be news of a woman found in her apartment with no eyes, no tongue and bleeding ears, dead.
But that wouldn’t be her concern. she got what she came for.

*

“Tina ?” 
“Yes mother ?” Tina turns to find her mother standing behind her
“Where were you last night?”
“I went out with some friends.”
“Okay, come down for breakfast..you are late for school”
“Okay mother”
She was smiling at herself as she got to school.
Finally; she had it. Finally she found it and it belongs to her.
She taps her jacket pocket where she had kept it last night , then she had frowned.
it wasn’t there.
It was there last night. ..where she had kept it…
No no no no. .
She began to retrace her steps , even walking back home to see if it had fallen. 
it was no use..
She goes back home,angry,  sad.

she lays on her bed wondering where it was this time, did she have to kill another person again? 
“Tina?’ Tom!!!’ Her mother had called from the palour screaming of joy

“Come down quick” Her mother called
Tina goes down to find her mother gushing over something , Tom her father was smiling  ..
As she goes closer ,  she realised what was making her mother happy..
“Oh I found it Tina,I found mother’s necklace, I found it. it’s been so long it had been missing but it has been here all along…I saw it on the doorway, maybe a good samaritan dropped it off or an angel I don’t know. but the most important thing is that I found the necklace that belonged to mother , and it is now mine,  as it always should have been. I found it and I am keeping it safe this time. ..Oh Tina can you imagine.?” She laughs clapping
Tina doesn’t smile, she doesn’t say anything
She turns away and goes back upstairs and her mother begins to gush.
She lays on her bed and closes her eyes. .anger boiling inside of her.

If only her grandmother had been nice , she would have given her that necklace instead of always insisting that it was meant for her mother first instead of her, and while she was trying to take it off that stupid fool electrician came, she had to knock him out, then she dropped the necklace and began to work on her grandmother, she wanted her death to look dramatic .. and then she left the house, thinking the necklace was  in her bag..
But it wasn’t.  by the time she got there the electrician had left..And so was the necklace. 
Then later that stupid principal,she should have just given it to her too..

but No..some stupid talk of “Finders Keepers’
Whenever someone saw the necklace they were drawn to it to own it, to keep it for themselves.
but she wasn’t like that. she just wanted it now not later.
And now that girl at the park and her mother..
And now just when she thought that finally she had it,she found the necklace…
Her mother had it on.

She sighs turning on her bed.

Now she would have to take it from her mother…
She hopes she wouldn’t be screaming too loudly like the others..
And she hated their eyes staring at her when she wants to take the necklace.. it felt as though it was judging her.. and removing it only gave her peace. And their ears? What good was a ear to a dead person. 

What good was their ears when they couldn’t see ,not talk. it was just an added package.
she sighs
She could still hear her mother’ laughter..
She turns again…
She would have to go down later and give her father wine to drink to celebrate. And she would keep pouring him more glasses and makes sure he drinks, so he sleeps like a log of wood till the next day too knocked out to he bothered with noise .

She sighs again.
Grandmother should have just given her the necklace when she asked nicely. ..
now she would have to kill her mother too
The necklace was hers..it was hers..

Not some finder’s keepers. it didn’t matter who found it.

it belonged to her.
It should always be with her.
*
It was midnight when she walked to her mother’s  room, seeing her asleep,her hands over the necklace, her father’s face was turned the other way..
“It is mine” She says before she closes her mother’s mouth , as soon as her eyes flew open,  she jabs her  mother’s eyes with her other hand
“Stop looking at me” she breaths
*
Later that night she smiled with the necklace around her neck. She sat on her grandmother’s chair and rocked front to back , front to back. She touchs the necklace. ..happiness filling her .
Tommorw her father would find her mother dead. 
But it wouldn’t matter. 

she had what she wanted…She found it now..and she was going to keep it.
And maybe trully “Finders were Keepers !!’
She laughs and laughs silently , rocking in her grandmother chair and drifts to sleep.
***** TheEND****
*ANTICIPATE TODAY’S STORY *****MAY 29TH ****
●THE BUS
#31MAY #31MAYSERIES #MAY31SERIES #31DAYSOFMAY #31DAYSINMAY #31MAYSTORY #MAYSERIES #MAY31SERIES 
#StephanieEgberike #Writes #31MAY 

http://www.sweetspectives.wordpress.com 

Leave a Reply

